: There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

Young people today are under pressure to do well at school and go on to higher education or find a good job. For this reason many people think that non academic subjects are waste of time and that schools should only focus on more academic subjects. I would disagree with this opinion and in this essay will explain why. Firstly there is a variety of skills are taught in non academic subjects that are essential for living. A school should not only be focus on academic areas but should give children a range of skills. For example children learn teamwork, discipline, leadership skills and how to solve problems with non academic subjects. Secondly, not all children want and need academic subjects. It is not important for everybody to go higher education and have good result in school. There are some subject that teach children to be more successful and find work easier. Subjects such like cookery and woodwork will be good for some students and give possibilities for job opportunities as chefs or furniture makers, for example. Finally, school can be very stressful and if all subjects are only very academic then it is bad for children. Non academic subjects like physical education and music reduce their stress better than only with academic subjects. In conclusion I argue that non academic subjects are important because they can help children learn skills, find work and reduce stress. A school should not only be focus on academic success but teach lots of skills to children.