There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heared everywhere nowadays?

It is not surprising to notice that almost everyone walking on the street is listening to music by using either MP3 or hand phones. In addition, people choose to listen to the type of music based on their taste and preference. With a variety if demands in term of music, there are many different types of music and songs being composed in the world today. In my country, Malaysia, people’s preference on music are more to K-Pop music. In this essay, I will discuss on the reasons why we need music and whether the traditional music of a country is more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays. First and foremost, we need music in our daily life as music can relax our minds and reduce our stress in the daily routine works. According to a prominent psychologist, he mentioned that listening to classical music before going to bed can provide our bodies a good sleep at night as the classical music has a very slow rhythm and soft melody. It can reduce our tension after long working hours. It is surprising to note that people who rarely listen to music have high level of stress and are more likely to commit suicide as a result as compared to people who listen to music every day. Therefore, in order to keep our mentally healthy, we should listen to music in our spare time or when we are in the car after working hours. Secondly, people need music because it is one of the hot topics discussed among friends. Nowadays, there are many youngsters listen to K-Pop music and their idols are Korean celebrities. They listen to music that match their personality. They are considered out of date if they do not listen to K-Pop music. Apart from that, people need music for party or any kind of celebration. For instance, in my cousin’s wedding party which was held few weeks ago, I notice the music played by the party are of variety kinds. In my opinion, I feel that both the traditional music of a country and the International music are equally important for the people. The traditional music of the country enables people to be more nationalistic and it tells people’s culture through the lyrics and melodies of the music. In contrast, the International music is very important to the world today as it is the leader of the world music and it shows what type of music is popular in the world. For instance, when my mother was young, people in that era used to listen to western style music such as the songs of Michael Jackson. In today’s world, many people still listen to his songs and other western style music such as the songs of Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez. In conclusion, when people have leisure time, they shall listen to music to relieve stress before engaging to daily routine works again. It is important for our mental health and keeps us to stay positive and be more optimistic. Besides, the traditional music of a country and the International music are both important to us as the traditional music represents our culture while the International music is the footstep of fashion.