There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Nowadays, contemporary lifestyle and advancement in technology have triggered the popularity of international music. Traditional music, on the other hand, is the symbol of tradition, values and history of a society. Although both of them are important for people, I believe that more emphasis should be given to the traditional music as identity, unique tradition and culture of a nation will be lost without promoting traditional music. Evidently, music is a form of communication and prayer. In many communities and religions, music is still used to eulogise the God. Our ancestors devoted songs to praise the Almighty as a mean to deliver thanks and pray for their needs. For example, Japanese people celebrate the wedding ceremonies with traditional songs that convey their thanks and appeals to the God. Moreover, musicians use music for communicating with other people. They reveal their emotions through poetic and harmonious lyrics which are expressed in beautiful melody in order to pass their emotions and messages. The message contained in a song is often believed by many and is accepted by the society as it inspires people. Music touches our heart, cures our wounds, and gives us motivation. Recently, due to globalisation, easy access to foreign TV & radio stations and widespread use of the internet, international music has become quite common.   International music is pretty entertaining, has a great variety and represents the contemporary issues. However, they are often fleeting and have less importance in many cultures. For instance, rap or rock songs might attract a lot of teenagers but they do not represent the true identity of many cultures. There are inevitable requirements of traditional music to express the true joys and traditions. Traditional music is regarded as the remarkable legacy from our ancestors.   Since traditional music reflects the genuine emotion and represents the tradition and way of life, they have more importance in our culture and society. To sum up, international and traditional music both have important roles in communicating, healing and entertaining people, but in my opinion, traditional music is more pivotal to keep and represent the genuine values of a society. Therefore, no matter how much we enjoy international music, we should foster the traditional music as much as possible.