There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

In recent years, the world has seen many kinds of music and the broad category of music are mainly international and traditional music. Music has diversified functions for every region in the world. Why we do need music? Because music can inspire us, represents our emotion and can remedy our wounds. In my opinion, the traditional music has more significance than the International music which people listen to everywhere in this era. Traditional music has far greater functions and obvious roles than the international music. I will explain some reasons for my belief in the following paragraphs. First, the traditional music has become the important part in many cultural ceremonies, such as wedding and death ceremony. For example, in a wedding ceremony, we need traditional music when a couple each other. Without music, this ceremony will not be complete. Secondly, nowadays we still use traditional music as a medium for communication and praising God or other people. For instance, sometimes we use music to praise our creator. Thirdly, every country or region has a distinguished genre for identity. Music also has the aim to differentiate a country or a region from others. For example, Indonesia has dangdut and keroncong music and these music have become Indonesian cultural identity. In addition, we need traditional music to accompany traditional dancing. In Indonesia, we have a lot of traditional dancing and each dancing has music to escort to manage every motion. For example, traditional music which accompanies jejer dance is different from candra dewi dance, because the music has to be suitable with every motion in each dance. Although nowadays people often listen to international music, but it does not mean that this music has more important functions than the traditional music, while international music is mostly used by people for entertain purposes traditional music represents our identity and culture.