There are currently an increasing number of individuals wanting to own many items such as cars, clothes and other items made by popular brands. This trend happens because of some reasons, and I belive it is a negative trend.

There are currently an increasing number of individuals wanting to own many items such as cars, clothes and other items made by popular brands. This trend happens because of some reasons, and I belive it is a negative trend. To begin with, there are some factors leading to the fact that many people are buying branded items. Firstly, as the quality of most things created by famous brands is superior and durable, people would rather spend their money on these goods once than buying low-quality items several times. For example, instead of buying numerous pairs of shoes which are poorly made, I prefer to purchase a few pairs of durable, high-quality shoes from top brand like Nike or Vans. Secondly, individuals owning precious and luxury stuff such as clothes or fashion accessories can attract the curiosity and attention of others. Therefore, they will be known widely and become more well-known, which will make a significant contribution to improving their careers in the future. For instance, many Vietnamese singers and artist are willing to squander money on clothing in order to draw more large companies’ notice. This helps them get more advertising contracts. I believe this tendency is negative because of some reasons. Primarily, due to the high cost of luxury products from well-known companies, consumers tend to borrow money from their friends or banks to own expensive items like smart phones or luxury cars if they cannot afford to pay for them outright. As a result, they are more likely to be put under financial pressure. In addition, the increasing popularity of well-known brands may hamper the development of small brands. This means that it is difficult for local brands to compete with major brands to attract buyers’ attention despite local firms’ items are of high quality, putting them in debt. For example, it’s common to see that, in recent years in Viet Nam, the smartphone market has fallen into the hands of the two greatest brands like Apple and Samsung, leaving smaller brands completely unable sell their products. Therefore, many less well-known brands are more likely on the verge of bankruptcy. In conclusion, there are some reasons why people tend to buy branded merchandise, and this tendency can have some disadvantages for individuals and society.