The world has seen an enormous increase in flights for leisure, business and commercial purposes around the world over recent years. What do you think are the main advantages and disadvantages of such flights? Do you think flights should be taxed more?

Tourism and international commerce numbers have risen in the past years and because of them, flights have become more frequent than ever, having both positive and negative impacts toward the world. Firstly, the high number of flights provide a variety of options, making travelling affordable for everyone, also creating more work fields for people. Another advantage is the growth of tourism which plays a big part in the economy of many countries. By being able to visit a vast number of places, tourists will learn more about different civilizations, which assures that slowly but surely the culture gap between countries won’t be as big. Secondly, one of the biggest issues concerning the increase of flights is the air pollution. Global warming is one of the most important problem in our century and this contributes in many ways in making it worse. More flights mean more airports built which highly disturb the people in those areas. For example, many airports are made near highly populated places without asking for the permission and opinion of the citizens, or even worse, they demolish people’s houses to increase the space for their building. In my opinion, the best thing that can be done is to encourage the industry to become more eco-responsable and implement new resources that do not impact the environment as much. To conclude, the world of flights has expanded massively in the past decades, creating cheap flights and facilitating a society class that wasn’t able to do that before but it is also responsable for a growth in air pollution which is fatal for humans in the end.