The widespread use of Internet has brought many problems. What do you think are the main problems associated with the use of Internet?

Since its invention, the internet has become more and more popular and infiltrated every aspect of our lives, from the study, work to personal lives. The widespread use of the internet has brought us many benefits but at the same time, it has also created many problems. I think among these problems, by far the most are the negative impact on interpersonal relationships and active learning skills. Nowadays it is not uncommon that people spend a large proportion of their waking hours online each day. For example, many studies have shown that we are spending as high as 7 hours on the internet mostly for entertainment activities such as watching videos, web surfing, and accessing social media sites. Consequently, time spent on face-to-face activities has been inevitably reduced. Parents are devoting less time to their children; children and youth are investing less time in face-to-face communication and playing in person with their peers. As a result, the widespread use of the internet has made a detrimental effect on our interpersonal relationships and people feel more isolated than before. Another main problem associated with the wide use of the internet is the negative impact on study skills. The Internet enables people to find all kinds of information so easily that they are gradually losing the motivation to actively learn, memorize, and internalize what they learn. Although searching for information online could be helpful and useful, sometimes it can also hinder people, especially school-age children from learning new knowledge. It is common for students to copy and paste what’s on the internet for their writing assignments and some even using the internet to directly find answers to math questions. This is a concerning trend as by doing so, they may establish the habits of borrowing others’ ideas and work, become less creative, and lose the skill of learning on their own. In conclusion, I think people are becoming more isolated and less likely to actively learn new skills and knowledge with the increasing use of the internet. Actions need to be taken by all levels of our society to address these problems.