The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls.

No doubt, mobile phones consist a legendary contribution in everyone's life to remain in contact. In this contemporary era, people make a massive use of technological gadgets not only to make phone calls but also for other purposes. In this essay, I intend to consider merits and demerits of cellphones. Embarking on primary reason regarding benefits of portable devices is that it helps to communicate with each other. This is to say, due to hectic schedule people usually remain busy in nine to five jobs. Therefore, they do not have time to visit their relatives and friends. Thus, they can remain in touch with them by making phone calls. Secondly, if children have mobile phones then they feel safer. This is because, they are never out off with their parents. cell phones provide a way to quickly interact someone if masses are in trouble. Hence, cell phones are useful in order to get help from others in difficult situations. Despite having form fact, the cons of using mobile phones cannot be overlooked. First and foremost, over usage of mobile phones by children can distract them from studies. Therefore, they cannot perform well in their studies which can create various problems related to their future. Students waste their lot of time by using cell phones for long hours. Moreover, it weakens the bond between children and their parents. As, children usually remain busy in their mobile phones and cannot spend enough time with their family. Thus, mobile phones have detrimental effects on family relationships. In conclusion, although there are various demerits of cell phones, benefits cannot be denied. Technological gadgets help to remain in contact. However, it lead to wastage of sheer amount of time.