The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace but nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advances in nuclear processing have gave us a low cost energy source, but at the same time nuclear power can be used against human being. There are several advantages of exploiting nuclear energy, for example, very low CO2 footprint, high energy capacity and low costs to consumer compared to other energy sources. On the other hand, nuclear power has serious drawbacks, for instance, threats of nuclear war, disastrous power plant failures and lack of proper radioactive waste degradation technology. First of all, nuclear energy is one of the cleanest in terms of carbon dioxide production, and for decades it has been outcompeted conventional fossil fuel energy which is directly responsible for greenhouse effect nowadays. In addition, nuclear raw material contains far more Joules per kilogram of fuel than energy sources like hydrogen, shale gas or petroleum. Furthermore, previously mentioned aspects make nuclear energy as one of the cheapest options for nation’s energy politics due to the fact that raw materials are widely abundant and accessible. Secondly, in recent decade society is highly concerned about major drawbacks of nuclear power, especially growth of nuclear stocks in Middle East, as they can be used for nuclear weapon production and could ignite nuclear war. Another disadvantage is raising amount of nuclear waste that comes from nuclear power plants. Due to the fact that it is very expensive and in some cases even impossible to degrade radioactive waste, most of the countries have decided just to collect and store it for unknown period of time in underground warehouses. Although several scientific groups are pursuing a sustainable disposal technology for decades, there has not been a significant progress. In my opinion, probably the biggest threat for the society is nuclear power plant failures that could lead to disastrous consequences both to environment and human being. To conclude, I disagree that the benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. I think, significant advances in nuclear processing technology are needed to safely exploit nuclear energy.