the strength and weakness of Thuongmai University

In the context of Viet Nam opening its education under commitments to WTO and improving education quality to meet the demand of industrialization, modernization, and international integration, formulating a strategy on raising the cooperation capacity and competitiveness in Vietnamese tertiary education is the aim of Thuongmai University. Though there are a few minor weaknesses in Thuongmai University's training operations and management, I believe that its merits outweigh its demerits. On the one hand, known as a multi-major training university with strengths and prestige in undergraduate and post-graduate training, Thuongmai University is recognized as one of the leading universities in Vietnam in the field of Economics training. To begin with, most of the lecturers have studied and researched in countries with lecturers with high academic and pedagogical proficiency. Namely, 1/6 of lecturers have participated in visiting lectures, studying abroad, in countries with developed education such as the US, UK, France, Sweden, The Netherlands. Besides, the most striking feature of the faculty is the lectures are all very friendly, dynamic, and enthusiastic in imparting knowledge and life skills to students. For instance, students have any questions, lecturers do not use email to give them feedback. Lectures would reply on personal Facebook which is also a place for the school to receive students' perspectives on training quality. The second strength that facilitates Thuongmai University to compete with other universities is the up-to-date faculties. Its lecture halls are equipped with air conditioners and are always in full operation. These lecture halls can accommodate from 50 to 200 students. Particularly, newly renovated hall H1 including 2 floors, can accommodate up to 1000 people. Lecture halls and library are continuously upgraded. Classrooms and multi-media rooms in the multi-function library and lecture center are installed modern equipment. Moreover, the university campus is surrounded by trees. The area is moderate, but the campus is dubbed as the university with the most beautiful and harmonious campus in the public university block. When mentioning the university's strength, one spotlight is the university's external affairs and international cooperation. In terms of external affairs and international cooperation, Thuongmai University maintained and developed new forms of cooperation with domestic and foreign organizations. Thuongmai University recorded the strong development of cooperation with universities in Europe, America, and Asia, namely France, Canada, US, UK, China, and Taiwan, etc. As an example, Thuongmai University provided undergraduate training programs in English and French in cooperation with universities from France under different specializations including “Sales Management” with University of Jean Moulin Lyon 3, “Finance – Insurance” and “Human Resource Management and Project Management” with Toulon University, and “Economics – Management” with Nice Sophia Antipolis University. On the contrary, I hold a firm belief that there exist some minor drawbacks when learners have experience in university training. The first weakness is the management software and network system, and servers. As can be seen, even though these systems are continuously perfected and completed, it is tough to satisfy the learner's needs. Take the wifi system for instance, there is wifi throughout the university to create a favorable condition for searching and accessing the Internet, but it is intermittent and sometimes cannot connect. Another demerit that can create a competitive hurdle is the credit registration server. Training quality would be a top priority, so learners are dissatisfied if they cannot register for the desired subjects and lecturers owing to the overloaded registration system. In particular, some students have to graduate late because they can not register for credits to meet the training program’s requirements. One more drawback that can interfere with Thuongmai University’s competitiveness is the tuition fee. It is undeniable that Thuongmai University’s tuition fee is quite high to procure and install equipment. To illustrate this point, other universities have the same quality, but the tuition fee is lower so that learners can choose them to reduce the burden on themselves and their families. To draw the conclusion, one can say that Thuongmai University is a proficient studying environment. As the university's slogan: "where your future begins", it is doubtless to endorse the high-quality training and modern faculty. If any students want to choose their success, experience great things, Thuongmai University can provide a useful and interesting playground to you.