Causes and Solutions of obesity

There is no doubt that the increase in the average weight of individuals is considered as an alarming issues all over the world, which goes hand in hand with the decrease in health and fitness levels. This essay will examine the reasons why this problem is increasing and discuss some available solutions to address this issue. There are several causes which lead to the significant rise in the number of overweight people these days. First and foremost, although people are aware that fastfood is high in saturated fats and excess added sugars, as well as calories and processed preservatives, it is widely consumed by most people. This is because junk food is affordable and convenient in terms of cost and time saving. As a consequence, fast food overconsumption will exert far-reaching impacts on health, if people tend to eat fast food too much over a long period. Furthermore, lack of physical activities is also believed as the second factor, leads to obesity. To illustrate, there is a large amount of modern equipment and automatic machines facilitating peoples' daily activities ranging from commuting entertainment and work, which, in turns, leads to the overdependence on technology. For example, most people prioritize private vehicles to go to work such as cars and mortorbikes in stead of spending time cycling to work. Nevertheless, there are some potential measures to tackle this issue. Firstly, the government should levy a tax on fast food consumption. As a result, high cost of junk food may contribute to the change in consumer behavior which encourages them to cook healthy food at home more regularly in lieu of purchasing unhealthy food. In essence, less fastfood consumption will reduce the number of people who suffer from obesity and diabetes, especially young adults. Secondly, parents and schools ought to encourage their children to engage in many regular activities such as jogging or cycling. For instance, parents can set an example for their children by cycling to work, which will result in forming a good habit and healthy lifestyle for youngsters. In conclusion, despite the fact that the overweight rate issoaring, I strongly believe that it is possible to address the issue by the efforts of the governments and each individual. In my opinion, the best solution to the effects of high rate of obesity is posing a high tax on the consumption of junk food. If this measure is adopted, it will go a long way towards solving the problems caused by obesity.