The size of cities is increasing. What are the reasons and consequences?

Urbanization is the latest revolution in the world. It has been observed that area of metros is expanding day by day. There are several causes for creation of this issue as well as there are various impacts of this problem. Both, root-causes and effects are explained in the ensuing write-ups. Discussing the reasons, the most common one is that many people have migrated to urban areas because of better way of living. In other words, large amount of population of rural areas have started to shift to cities in search of good job opportunity. Due to having the best facilities of hospitals as well as education, excessive proportion of people moved to metros. For example, there is a survey which was conducted by the Cambridge University in 2017; it revealed that 83% people of England preferred to live in cities instead of villages. Furthermore, to arrange residence of migrate people, governments have to spread the boundaries of any particular city. To illustrate, authorities need more land because they have to construct more buildings and work areas for moving population for living and working purpose. The mentioned causes have also numerous effects. The first and foremost one is that daily needed items become more expensive because of over population. To elaborate, for more amount of citizens, large proportion of water, electricity and food are required. To fulfill these demands, government have to  give more efforts which increase price of those products. For instance, electricity became twice expensive in the Madrid because conventional method can not supply enough electricity. The another consequence is that deforestation took place in many areas. To reformulate, to provide land for residence and business, many trees are cut. If this scenario happens more; one day, oxygen can become rare in the atmosphere. In conclusion, it can be seen that cities are becoming wider day by day because of migration of rural people in urban areas. This takes some bad effects with it such as expensive daily needs and environment problems like deforestation.