The range of technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The application of the new technology is one of the most important ways of making millionaires such as Bill Gates. However, discussion now centers on whether the technology has also widened the gap between the rich and the poor. My view is that the improper distribution system of social wealth, rather than modern technology, has caused such a social problem. First, it is obvious that the government is the one most capable and responsible for solving any social issue and ensuring social equality. In order to bridge this wealth gap, the most effective and direct method should be taxation leverage, by which the government can use the rich people’s tax money to subsidize the unfortunate. So, the technology should not become the scapegoat of the issue. Conversely, modern technologies indeed have provided great opportunities for the poor to be rich. For example, many people have become wealthy by setting their own commercial websites on Internet. Compared with traditional companies that require large initial investment and higher operation cost, internet is the cheaper and more accessible platform for ordinary people to make fortune. Those who harbor the view that the technology has polarized the distribution of wealth around the world believe that the poor countries are getting poorer due to the lack of creative technologies. Of course, this is a real phenomenon. But paradoxically, the right solution for those nations is just to introduce advanced technologies to improve the social productivity, which is like the age-old chicken-or-egg question. In sum, modern technology plays a key role in filling the gap between the rich and the poor not only for individuals, but for nations as well. In the era of the knowledge-based economy, the one who is diligent and can capitalize knowledge will eventually prevail.