Individuals cannot alleviate the poverty that exists in the world; it is the responsibility of governments.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have a Minimal welfare state is the responsibility of the individual or of the state. I am going to discuss the conditions that governments should offer and their consequences. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe the government should provide an affordable quality of life for everyone. There are people who argue in favour of the government policies benefits that could almost eliminate poverty. A government in charge of people poverty and with an active goal of exterminating poverty is mandatory. The main reason for believing this is that one who cannot stand himself or his family may do not have another choice other than to commit crimes. Then the domino effect comes, one prejudice others, others think that have the same right and so on. One good illustration of this is in extreme cases an individual may rob foods or try to steal money to overcome the situation. On the other hand, others believe that people from society may be in charge of other’s poverty as well. It is often argued that people with volunteering or donation, it is also possible to delete cases of extreme poverty. People often have this opinion because it is a claim for human empathy: when a collaborative effort of the community is a strong asset to solve common problems. A second point is that is easy to wait that governors solve all our problems while people are able to do their part as well. A particularly good example here is nonprofit organizations that offer professional courses to form professional drivers or artisans whose teachers are volunteers. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that it is the main responsibility of the state. Even if individuals may help considerably with their volunteering. In future, it is going to be clearer that the collaborative effort from society and government will accelerate the solution and minimize poverty.