The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

A section of people hold an opinion that there is an increase in number of reoffences due to inefficient methods of reformation for convicts in penitentiary facility and as a nation that is adopting and accepting globalization with open hands in all aspects we need to reflect on prison systems as well. I this essay I will throw light on some problems causing this phenomenon and possible solutions for the same. To begin with, a lot of ex-convicts are reverting to crime because of lack of proper rehabilitation during their time of imprisonment and counselling and secondly, the social stigma and taboo associated with those who are ex-prisoners. Not only this a lot of individuals who offend in most scenarios are victims of their own demons such as abuse at tender age, physical and sexual violence along with poverty and illiteracy. For instance, recently a wife murdered her husband who have been violating without her consent for years because of which she committed homicide. The solutions of above mentioned problems can be providing psychological therapy sessions with qualified doctors in one on one as well as group will help those who have mental issues which are otherwise sane people. Also a plethora of pupil in correctional facility are illiterates they need to be taught traditional skills and basic education along with moral values so as to survive and reintegrate in society after their tenure. Also government should create awareness campaigns about leaving social stigma that comes with being an ex-prisoner along with some employment opportunities to them. To illustrate, a philanthropist created a NGO which provide ex-criminals a opportunity to work and live a decent life. In the facility they train them in certain hands-on skills so that they can find jobs in factories and other organization. Government should also fund such NGO's and promote such activities. To conclude, even though there are certain measures that government is taking it is our responsibility as well to help people who want to become a better person than they were rather than isolating them in the name of their past mistakes. I strongly advocate every person should be given a second chance to improve their life. Don't you?