The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

The present-day approach of imprisonment has not been productive in reducing the crime count. In fact, culprits are making more offences even after they are free from the lockup. This essay elaborates the major challenges faced by prison system and a feasible solutions to prevent them. First and foremost, one of the major problems is considered as corruption and impartial laws. In this context, majority of police officers and other authorities are taking bribe from well-known personalities which make criminals fearless in committing illegal crimes. Also, there is no monitoring system by government which leads to more corruption in the nation. Here, nation is not imposing strict laws to offenders in which they are indirectly supporting criminals to commit huge offences in the society. Next, social stigma is also another issue were felons after releasing from jail where society and neighborhoods are not accepting them. So, the probability of crimes increasing at rapid phase. For example, well-known Bollywood actor from India met with an accident where an innocent person died but still government has not taken any strict actions towards him and got released from prison in less span of the period. As a consequence of the above problems, first the nation should implement strict rules and severe punishments based on priority of crimes. Moreover, every offenders should think seriously before committing any other crimes which ultimately can reduce the crime rates. In addition, the other best solution can be employment opportunities and awareness programs, or counselling can be done to felons. Here, during imprisonment culprits can attend this kind of programs and they get awareness about the importance of life. For instance, recently one incident took place in India where few youngsters committed huge crime against a girl where authority taken strict action against them by giving shootout order. In conclusion, crime rates are increasing at an alarming rate in many countries after releasing them from prison but it can be reduced by implementing solid laws and providing employment to offenders.