The only way to reduce air pollution is to increase the price of fuel. Use your own experience as examples.

Air pollution has significantly increased in last century because of industrialisation and has become a serious concern for next generations. Some suggest that it can be controlled by increasing the prices of fuel while others do not support this argument. This essay will discuss how raising the prices of fuel will help in controlling air pollution. To begin with, high prices of fuel will limit its use to common people. More people will prefer to use cheaper modes of transportation which may include use of public transportation instead of personal cars. For example, with the start of metro bus service in Lahore, significant reduction in smog weather has been witnessed in last 2 years. Thus, air pollution can be controlled with increase in prices of fuel. Secondly, increasing the price of fuel will decrease the dependence on fuel for energy purposes such as domestic and industrial use. People will find alternative ways to fulfill their requirements of energy and encouraging them to use better environmental friendly source of energy. For instance, water can be used for power generation instead of coal which will produce pollution. Therefore, higher prices of fuel can help to reduce the pollution. In conclusion, increasing the price of fuel will force people to opt for cheaper modes of transportation and at the same time will limit their dependence on fuel as a source of energy. In my opinion, rise in price of fuel will tremendously reduce the air pollution and promising a better environment for our next generations.