Some people claim that instead of having to prepare for huge numbers of exams in school, children should learn more. Use your own experience to support your ideas.

These days students are overburdened by the amount of exams they need to appear in school. Some people argue that the focus should be more on learning rather than exams. This essay will discuss how this claim is true. To begin with, students are under pressure due to exams as they need to prepare for it as well as perform well. This pressure reduces their ability to think critically which is a key element for learning and developing rational thinking. For example, at my university I was unable to develop in depth concepts of subject " Properties of concrete" because of the pressure of regular tests conducted by our teacher. Although I got good marks at the end of the semester, now I struggle to understand its concept in the field. Hence, many tests did not prove fruitful for me. Secondly, with large number of exams, students develop a mentality of passing the exams only. With this mentality they are least bothered to learn something new affecting their curiosity for new ideas and are least bothered to learn as they have to compete with other students for good grades. For instance, my niece who is studying in class 5 is only concerned to get a good position in her class rather than learning something new. Therefore, this kind of mentality affects the learning and ultimately mental growth among children. In conclusion, huge number of exams will only lead to extra pressure on students as well as developing the mentality of getting good grades only. In my opinion, educational institutes should concentrate more on the methods to develop interest of children in subjects rather than conducting more exams.