The Meteorology, Climatology, and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) has evaluated the accelerograph data of 669 locations to determine the quality and characteristics of the seismic noise.

The Meteorology, Climatology, and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) has evaluated the accelerograph data of 669 locations to determine the quality and characteristics of the seismic noise. The data used is seismic noise recording for 7 days from 27 September - 3 October 2021. The evaluation is carried out by analyzing the noise level using the Probabilistic Power Spectral Density (PPD) method. The PPSD method describes the quality of the accelerograph data by comparing the signal spectral in the form of Power Spectral Density (PSD) for 7 days with the standard accelerometer noise model, namely the Accelerometer Low-Noise Model (ALNM) and the Accelerometer High-Noise Model (AHNM). The results of this data quality are evaluated and supported by the results of parameters in the form of Root Mean Square (RMS), amplitude ratio, number of spikes, percentage of data availability, number of gaps, and amount of overlap. Based on the results of the signal PSD analysis, the accelerograph data has 193 locations with very high cultural noise, 27 locations have damage to the digitizer/sensor, 12 locations have dataless instrument response errors, and 37 locations often experience gaps in the data. Based on the results of the spectrum analysis and other parameters, the evaluation form of the accelerograph data quality is grouped into Good, Fairly Good, Bad, and Dead. Of the 669 accelerograph locations, 217 locations have good value, 177 are quite good, 96 are bad, and 179 are in dead condition. It is expected that locations that have fairly good and bad conditions can be maintained, change sensors, or change locations if the cultural noise is very high.