The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

Nowadays there a lot more numbers of cars on the street than ever before. The usage of cars is in demand, despite causing environmental adversities. This essay will discuss why the making and the use of cars are on the rise, including the poor infrastructure of public transport and having an alternative to disel. This essay will further suggest solutions to control these problems, including improving government-funded vehicles and increasing the price of petrol. People prefer to use their own vehicles for convenience and economical reasons. Cars are very to use, unlike the public transportation system where it only covers a designated distance and less frequent after a certain time. Private transportation is also quicker, safer and with the reduction of the price of diesel and the availability of its cheap alternative of natural gas, it becomes easier to afford one as well. For instance, last year I visited a historical place in my car instead of taking the public bus as it would only operate every five hours. Therefore, due to the popularity of cars, for the reasons stated herein, the manufacturing business is booming as well. By improving the infrastructure of government-owned buses, trams and subways and by making the price of petrol rise, privately owned cars will decrease on the roads. The government should invest heavily in order to better the infrastructure of the railways and streets by doubling the number of trams and making it more frequent and accessible. The increase in price in petrol has also proven to show a decline in private cars on the highways. For example, in a survey conducted in Belgium, it was seen that the government in order to make the surroundings more eco-friendly has increased the price of petrol which led to a dramatic fall in numbers of cars on the street. In short, governments should take the steps of reducing personal cars by taking the mentionable steps as the harms caused by the hazards has a long-term effect. In conclusion, although the manufacture of private cars is increasing along with its use, keeping the harm that is causing to the surroundings, the numbers should be minimised. This essay has discussed the problems for the causes which are a bad condition of government buses and the substitute for petrol. It also gave two folded solutions for these problems and they were, making public transport better, easy and accessible to use and increasing the market price of diesel.