The increasing use of air transport to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season is a positive development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the growth in aviation, many countries now choose this mode of transport to export food such as fruit and vegetables to places where they are not in season or cannot be grown. I do not believe that this has been a positive development for the following reasons. The first is the negative impacts that this has on th e environment. One of the biggest problems in the world today is global warming, and one of the major contributors to this is the burning of fossil fuels in the form of oil. Transporting millions of tonnes of food every day by air will add significantly to this problem as just one flight releases large amounts of carbon dioxide and other gases into the environment.  Another reason is the effect this can have on local markets. Using planes to transport food means that it can be exported in bulk, and it is la rge chains of supermarkets that usually use such methods. They can then sell it at discount prices to customers and provide a great deal of choice. Local farmers, on the other hand, cannot reduce their prices and they can only sell the fruits and vegetable s that are in season. This means that they cannot compete in the market and may lose business or their business may fail.  To conclude, the detrimental effect that importing food by air has on the environment and local markets means that this is not sustai nable. Measures should be taken to encourage local farming and reduce the dependency on exported food.