The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Agree or disagree?

Online shopping is becoming increasingly popular nowadays. Some people believe that the rise of online shopping will bring a retail apocalypse while others do not. This essay will argue that although there is a steep growth in online shopping nowadays, the niche for retail shopping will exist. Retail shopping will always take precedence over online because of the touch and feel that it provides to the consumer. Online shopping might be preferred for the purchase of daily consumption items; however, it cannot replace the experiential shopping that retail provides for a want-based purchase. For example, purchase of clothes and shoes would always require a consumer to check the article thoroughly by picking it up and discussing it with the seller rather than randomly ordering it and then ending up with a misfit. Furthermore, there always remain a transactional risk whenever one is shopping online. While online shopping gives an ease, it also castes significant doubts on the integrity of the data being used owing to increasing concerns over cyber security. In today’s day and age, the online data is never secured as there have been substantial increase in the data leakages and fraudulent activities in the recent times. Facebook and Google, the tech giants, were also making headlines recently regarding their privacy policies and the concerns that the people have over their data security. To conclude, the trend of retail shopping has no doubt subsided, however, it will not dissipate owing to the experiential shopping and the transactional security it provides to a shopper mission.