The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

With the advancement of technology, there has been a constant rise in the number of online shoppers around the world. While these people find it convenient to shop over the web, it can't be denied that there is a section of the society that still prefers to visit nearby shops for their everyday needs. This essay will argue why the growth of online shopping does not mean a permanent closure of physical stores in the long run. Some people, especially in the developed countries, find it easier to fulfil their needs via online shopping. The countless number of e-commerce websites and mobile apps along with the variety of options to choose from have only made it simpler for them. Moreover, the convenience of door delivery and online payments steer the tech-savvy younger generation towards making online purchases. Although, this trend is common among the millennials, one must also be wary of the older generation and people living in towns and rural areas that may find it difficult to shop online. In many countries, particularly in developing nations, people prefer to visit nearby supermarkets and shops for groceries and other essential needs. By doing so, such shoppers feel they have more control on the quality of the purchase as well as the price they pay. For instance, a recent survey in India showed that over 80% of people in the age group of 45 and 70, felt a greater sense of satisfaction about their purchase when they physically went to a local store. Another reason for people to prefer physical shopping is that they see this not just as a form of exercise but also as an opportunity to take time off their fast-paced lives to socialise and meet with others. To sum up this essay argued that the increase in online shopping does not necessarily indicate that physical shops will vanish in the future. Despite the growing trend among certain sections of the society, I strongly feel that a vast majority will continue to shop in-person as they do now.