The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

It is an irrefutable fact that shopping online has become increasingly popular these days. In this regard, there is a possibility that online shopping would lead to the closure of brick-and-mortar stores in cities and towns in the future. This essay will discuss the possibility of this happening. To begin with, the vital reason for the closure of physical stores in the future is that consumers are quite satisfied with the unique shopping experience provided by online sites. This is because they have wide varieties of shopping options to choose from coupled with fast and reliable delivery channels which makes most of the customers prefer e-commerce sites over traditional stores. For instance, recently, in Bengaluru, many renowned stores had to shut down because of the change in shopping preferences of customers. Consequently, given the fact that e-commerce companies have entered into almost every sector, there is a high possibility that retail stores will eventually perish. Another compelling reason that the e-commerce giants will succeed over retail shops is that they have a larger capital base and lower overhead cost. These companies have an enormous net worth to afford substantial marketing costs to penetrate the market despite the competition from the stores. For example, Amazon has launched a plethora of drones for initiating faster delivery which would decrease the manpower cost dramatically. As a result, although these companies incur huge capital expenditure, the income generated over a period of time is multifold which makes them market leaders and thus leads to the elimination of the traditional stores. In conclusion, it can be anticipated that e-commerce company will acquire the entire market share in the future because they provide exceptional client service and are efficiently able to reduce the overhead expenditure.