The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. " Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. On

In this recomendation, the director argues that in order to improve the productivity of the employess in Acme Publishing Company, the president should afford them for the Easy Read Course, which was benefit to the company. The aurhor illustrates several edivence to prove the suggestion. Firstly, there were many other companies having their employees to attend this course. Secondly, some of the employees made impressive performance when they finished this course. Thirdly, compared with the benefits that the course brings in, the tuition fee was reasonal for each employee. While the suggestion is problematic in that there are some loopholes in it, more evidence are needed as those in the recommendation are not convicing, we need to evaluate this argument carefully. To begin with, whether the other companies could be compared with the Acme Publishing Compnay is still in question. As the author does not tell us what kinds of the other companies are, we could not draw the conclusion without this essential reference. In another word, if the other companies were not in the same publishing field, the evidence would not be compelling due to the irrelavance. So more infromation about all of these companies are needed to prove the argument. Another point is the scale of the students attending to the class is not given, so we could not evaluate the effect of the course. As the author cites two cases of the students while how about all the other students' performance is not told by the author. As we could not evaluate the average performance of the students, the successful cases metioned by the director could be unusual as maybe the other sutdents could not make the same progress like the two graduates metioned in the argument. Moreover, as there are only two successfull cases cited by the director, what made them make so much progress is not given. Maybe they were just very talented while all the others could not be so successfull. In addtion, the comparing between the benefit to the company and the tuition fee is not convicing. Firstly, we do not know how many kinds of jobs in the Acme Publishing Company thus wheher all of the employees should learn this coures is still in question. As maybe there are some employees who do not need to get so mych information in a short time like the guradians of the company. Secondly, we do not konw the totall number of the staff in this company, even if $500 for each employee is a small, the totall expense could also be very high if there are many employees. In conclusion, the advice given by the director is not convicing as the reasoning in this arguement is not compelling. To strenthen the author's argument, he/she should make more survey to gather more evidence to prove the effect for all of the employees attending in this course, also, he /she should find more compelling data.