The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon. " For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance

Merely based on unfounded assumptions and dubious evidence, the author draws the conclusion that there is no further need to donate for the symphony next year. To support the conclusion, the author points out the evidence about more attendance, higher private contribution and tickets price of the symphony. At first glance, it appears to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that it omits some substantial concerns. Firstly, the conclusion is unacceptable unless there is compelling evidence to support the strong connection between higher attendance and fully self-supporting. The assumption being made is that the 200 percent of private contributions and attendance can bring more income so the symphony can be self-supporting. However, is it definitely for it to become independence just due to higher contribution? Maybe this could be offset by more costs for every performance. Moreover, even if they really contribute to the whole profit, does it mean the symphony doesn't need any funding to maintain? The answer of it is uncertain. Secondly, without ruling out all other factors, it is unreasonable to conclude the more expensive ticket can lead to self-independence. Whether the more pricy tickets can bring more profit? Perhaps the audience won't tend to buy it if they find the tickets are too expensive to afford. Therefore in this way, the profit would decrease instead. Moreover, even if the tickets with higher price could lead to a better financial consequence, how long would this optimistic phenomenon last? Can it resist through the whole next year? Thus it is irresponsible to draw the conclusion that the funding for the symphony can be eliminated from the next year's budget. To sum up, the author fails to draw the conclusion because the cited evidence does not lend strong support for it. To make the conclusion more convincing, the author would have to provide more evidence with regard to the causal relationship between more private contributions, attendance and self-supporting. What's more, how long for the profit improvement can last brought by more expensive ticket should be answered. Thus if the argument had included the given factors, it could be more thorough and logically acceptable.