The following appeared in a local newspaper. " People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's prescription. Each b

This passage claims that in choosing from two cold medications Cold-Away is more effective than Coldax, because of Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer and is used by more hospitals than is Coldex. This reasoning has several flaws, and, therefore is not convincing. The logic of the argument is compromised because the author fails to mention some important aspects and suggests groundless cause-effect reasoning. First of all, the author claims that Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer. When making such a statement author assumes that the longer the drug is on the market the more effective it is. Indeed, the author's argument can seem logical at first glance. However, the author fails to consider that new discoveries in medical science happen every day, and new more effective drugs are constantly being developed. Therefore, the author's argument is doubtful because it contains a major flaw in reasoning. If the author had provide more relevant information, his argument would have been more convincing. Second, the argument points out that Cold-Away is used by more hospitals. Again, this point may seem reasonable and justified to inattentive reader. Nevertheless, a careful analysis reveal a major weakness in author's argument. The author ignores to consider a possibility that it may be only two or ten hospitals use Cold-Away than Coldax. This problem could have been avoided if the author had mentioned the exact difference the exact difference in the use of the two drugs. Finally, the argument suggests that efficiency of drugs could be assessed just only by two points. However, it may be the case that efficiency is measured by many other parameters. But the author totally ignores such a scenario in the passage. This problem could have been avoided if the author had provided comprehensive analysis off all fact and factors relevant to the matter. In conclusion, the argument that Cold-Away is more effective than Coldax, contains several inconsistencies: unsupported assumption, omission of some important facts, incorrect analogy. The author reasoning, therefore is doubtful and hardly convincing.