The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the years 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decade, the means of transports have been alternate to fit our standards, especially cars. Cars are very important to everyone in this world, they can transport us from one place to another without worrying about missing the car, or buying a ticket unless you park wrong. Of course, cars give all of us uncountable of benefits, for example, it helps us to get to a place right on time without having to stop at many places on the way, to feeling confront in something that belongs to you. And If there was an accident people don't have to wait for a train or bus or ambulance, they can get in the car and drive fast to the hospital. But at the same time Cars can also bring numerous drawbacks. For instance, every year car accidents increase because of careless drivers. Air pollution has been skyrocketing and no one seems to care about it, in fact people will be depleting the limited fuel and polluting the air more for unnecessary car rides. Traffic has increased along with noise pollution. And the biggest setback is the loss of patience in the drivers, everyone is so stress and uptight when driving. At the time of driving one's true human nature could be found. I believe that countries should start to put limits on the number of cars being sold, they should start encouraging public transports to make our environment healthier and to save more lives. The government can reduce the number of costs for tickets necessary for the usage of the trains or bus's, so it can be easier and cheaper for citizens. After that public transport needs to be more "luxurious" so that people can feel better about themselves and encourage more people to use them. The lawmakers can also raise awareness of all the damage cars can produce, they can give notices and weekly reminders to limit the usage or increase the prices of fuels and cars so that it will be harder for people to buy. Of course, in the end, cars are a great item of luxury to people. Cars are so important that some believe that it represents what kind of a person you are in terms of wealth and style. On the other hand, I stand to encourage to limit the usage of cars, there are numerous other ways to display one's wealth.