The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

It is often argued, that nowadays the owners of cars are increasing day by day. Through the years Britain reached almost thirty millions cars and people believe that this has to change due to international laws or with alternative forms. Personally speaking, I agree with the way of changing. First of all, I believe that cars in many countries as more than the inhabitants. There are families that they have more cars than the members of it. Neither that they have different vehicles for their jobs, either just because they have a smaller for the town and the biggest for road trips. All this gas emission from the cars goes into the greenhouse and the atmosphere is getting infected, which is unhealthy. All this situation can cause cancer, breathing difficulties, etc. Without a doubt, a switch to low-emission cars such as hybrid or battery- powered vehicles would help to clean up the air. Secondly, to decrease the use of vehicles the government should legislate the ban of traffic in the big cities of Britain without reasons. To be more specific, if you live for example at the suburbs of a city you should take the public transport to go to your job. So government have to increase the number of busses with the speed at which the metro passes. Less cars, more employees at the transport. To conclude, I strongly believe that alternative forms and some laws can control the car ownership and use to change the situation because it’s something that affect our health and planet.