The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Since the appearance of the first car on the roads in Britain in 1888, the number of vehicles increased astronomically over the years. Without control of further rise in future years, there is a risk of traffic congestion on British roads. Some have argued that the number of people buying and using personal cars should be controlled by encouraging other forms of transportation and introducing international laws. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this argument before declaring a position. On the one hand, motivating people to employ alternative forms of transportation and introducing effective international laws could go a long way in reducing car ownership. For example, I read in a newspaper recently that in China, there is a law that limits the number of cars owned by households to not more than one. Enforcing this law has resulted in more people utilising buses and trains. This in turn, has helped to control traffic in the overpopulated country. However, I strongly believe that a more effective method of tackling this problem would be optimising road infrastructure to accommodate the number of vehicle on the road. In Nigeria, for example, research has shown that the major cause of traffic jam is not the number of vehicle plying the roads, but the deplorable state of most roads. Therefore, regular maintenance and expansion of roads as the need arises would go a long way in controlling congestion. More so, people have a right to decide whether or not they want to own a car and enforcing laws to control this would be an infringement on their freedom choice. In conclusion, the rise in number of vehicles on British roads has been a cause for concern. Some have suggested curbing this trend by controlling car ownership. However, I feel the risk of congestion can be more effectively dealt with by optimising road infrastructure.