The difference between Domestic and International Human Resource Management

The main difference is that Domestic HRM focuses on a single country, dealing with issues related to employees belonging to a single nationality, while International HRM provides solutions for employees from more than one country, and different nationalities and cultures. This means that if the company contracts five hundred people from one country is easier to manage than contracting two hundred employees from multiple countries. This is because the global company, using IHRM, must deal with taxes, languages, and laws that are different than in their home country. International Human Resource Management (IHRM) is more composite than Domestic Human Resource Management (HRM). The main functions of HRM are recruiting, training, high performance, organization, and development. When compared to IHRM, the challenge of domestic HRM is relatively smaller. IHRM does many of the same tasks as HRM, but IHRM activities include international stuff like work permits, foreign currencies, the inclusion of culture, taxation, foreign locations, and more. Both types of HR have a goal to provide a management team for their company.