The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no

The author argues that teachers in high school should not assign homework more than twice a week. The author makes his argument based on a survey of high school math and science teachers that reported to only giving out homework two or three days per week. In addition, the author claims that despite getting less homework, Marlee students get better grades compared to Sanlee students who are given homework each school day. However, the author fails to provide sufficient evidence, and avoids three important questions that weaken the authors argument. First, the author fails to provide enough evidence that would in turn help make a stronger argument. While a survey was concluded, the author fails to provide evidence of how many teachers were interviewed. Were three teachers survyed or forty? How many schools did the author look at to come up with this assertion? Thus, by leaving out this curcial information the author fails to convience other schools to adopt a similiar approach. Furthermore, the author throws in the word 'many' and 'most', however, what is many or most in his/her point of view? Maybe by many or most the author assumes that he/she does not have to provide the actual number of teachers who were surveyed. For instance, is it possible that by saying most the author reffers to the teachers who decided to complete this survey? Moreover, what about the teachers who disagree, and did not complete the survey what are their opinions on this. Thus, not enough crucial evidence is provided here to make such a bold request. Finally, only two schools are mentioned here, thus is possible that perhaps the teachers who were surveyed by the author grade way differently and that being the reason for such grade difference between the two schools? In addition, the author compares two different schools that may operate differently and may have different teaching styles. Each school has its own philasophy, therefore, comparing just two schools to make this bold predicition is invalid and falls flat since not enough evidence is presented. In sum, while the author may be on to something, he/she fails to provide sufficient evidence to convience other schools that giving out less homework will increase student performance. By failing to provide the number of teachers surveyed, throwing words in such as 'many' and 'most', and discussing if the two schools are similiar the author fails to provide necessary evidence to help think otherwise. Therefore, by having three major plot holes in his/her argument the author is unable to have a strong argument to convience other schools to adopt the same teaching method.