The crime rate in urban areas is usually much higher than in rural areas. Why is this? What can be done to address the problem of crime?

As per the statistics, it is observed that the crime rates in the metro cities are higher than that of in small villages. The main reason for this disparity in income and surviving is difficult in towns. There is range of measure that can be implemented to resolve this problem. The main cause of increased crime rates is a disparity in income between rich and poor. As the expenses are higher in cities, the people are forced to work overtime. If they lose their jobs due to some reason, they would quickly start exploring new ways to get money. Moreover, the potential returns on crime is way higher in towns than in rural areas. In Addition, there is a sense of community in small villages. As they know their neighbours, they will always care for them, whereas people in cities tend to be busy in their own world and hardly know the people in their area. There are some potential solutions to bring down the crime rate in urban areas. Firstly, the government should try to reduce the difference in the income, by taxing the rich people and helping the poor. Secondly, there should be community centre in every locality, which helps people to know more about their neighbours. Lastly, the rich businessman or industrialist should try to not remove people from their job. In Conclusion, Although there is disparity in income levels and returns from a crime are higher in cities, government and the businessman should work towards the above solution.