The cost of living is higher in many countries. What are the effects of higher prices to individuals and society? What is the best way for people to deal with this problem?

While it is wildly known that we can learn a great share of lessons from the past and apply it to our present, some people argue that we cannot learn anything from our history. In this essay I will be sitting on the fence and I will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, there are various examples of repetitive situations that happened in history and still occur today. A great example of this phenomena is the election of a supreme. In our lives we usually avoid voting for a president that has radical and fascist views, because we have seen what had been done to countries that did such as Germany and Italy. Moreover, history proves to be a vital source to trace medical hazards to their origins, thus finding a cure. Furthermore, Dr. John Snow, a famous doctor in the 19th century who is the father of epidemiology, was able to trace back the London cholera outbreak to its origin and minimize its occurrence through his research into previous epidemics in history. On the other hand, some oppose history as a trustworthy source to understand our lives simply because history is written by the winner. In other words, when reading history, you are seeing the past through the eyes of the writer, which tends to be biased towards the winner in most cases. One can clearly observe this situation when reading the history of Justinian, the first. Furthermore, it can be noted that Procopius the writer of Justinian I, had two different depictions of Justinian in his different books. Had not we found his hidden book, we would have followed the path of Justinian as a role model for all ambitious leaders. To conclude, although history can have some disadvantages, I believe that those problems can be avoided or rectified by taking a closer look into the lives of historians. Therefore, leaving us with vital information to better understand our lives and avoid possible inadvisable choices.