The best way to solve the environment problem is to increase fuel prices. Agree or disagree

Nowadays, issues associated with the environment have become a great concern for many countries. Few sections of society think that the government should raise the fuel price to alleviate those problems. In my opinion, this is a positive development. However, I also believe public transport is another solution. Certainly, vehicles are the primary source of greenhouse gases, and responsible for one-third of global warming. It is evident that if the government slightly hike the cost of gasoline and petrol, it could impact people’s income and saving. As a result, vehicle owners will decrease their personal vehicle uses, which helps to reduce pollution. For instance, Singapore has added a huge amount of taxes on gas prices, which depleted the rate of pollution significantly. Therefore, expansion in fuel value will benefit at a certain limit to decline the environmental problems. Despite the solution mentioned above, there are some other ways to deal with this issue. One major option is to provide a robust public transport system and provide subsidies for residents who use it. If occupants have the alternative to commute via buses and trains, which are cheaper and comfortable, they will start using them regularly. For example, London has a vast network of trains and buses, which are quite affordable. Hence locals prefer to use them instead of their private vehicles. Consequently, it will result in fewer cars on the road, which eventually means clean environment. In conclusion, although environmental issues can be controlled by raising the prices of gas, other measures like providing efficient public transport and subsidy for residents could be equally beneficial in combating this issue.