The best way to improve health is through regular exercise

It is sometimes considered that the most effective means of promoting health is by engaging in consistent physical workout. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view because exercise promotes physical fitness and reduces the risk of developing certain diseases. *Regular exercise promotes fitness. During physical workout, not only is the heart actively engaged, but also its pumping action increases which, in turn promotes flow of blood, oxygen and nutrients through the vessels to all the vital organs, enabling them function optimally. Moreover, the muscles of the body are concurrently trained to maintain a perfect tone thereby preventing muscle stiffness and wasting. For instance, in a recent research conducted by WHO, it was clear that a 30 minutes to 1 hour daily workout helps to prevent occlusion of the blood vessels, thus promoting blood flow. Therefore, consistent exercise ensures physical wellbeing. Furthermore, exercising frequently reduces the risk of developing some diseases such as obesity and hypertension. Regular exercise burns excess glucose from meals, preventing its deposition in the fat stores of the body, thus counteracting obesity. Also, steady exercise inhibits deposition of plaques in the walls of the blood vessels which tend to narrow them down with a consequent rise in blood pressure. For example, my grandfather, though in his 90s, still engages in a daily 45 minutes cycling to and fro the village market square, a habit which has enabled him maintain an ideal weight and blood pressure. Hence, exercising constantly prevents certain diseases. In conclusion, exercising is sometimes considered the paramount means of achieving optimal health and I agree since regular exercise ensures fitness and freedom from certain ailments. Hence, I recommend that exercise sessions be incorporated into the curriculum of primary, secondary and tertiary institutions so as to inculcate in young ones the habit of exercising at a tender age.