French's Croissant and Macaron

France is well known for its charming language, powerful kingdom of fashion and art and its spectacular cuisine. French ubiquitous confections have been served from ample fancy restaurants to bakeries and cafes around the world. The gourmets are perhaps familiar with French croissants and macarons. The two typical representatives may lure people’s attention from the very first moment. Croissant is one of the most typical trademarks when it comes to French cuisine. However, as a matter of fact, the origin of croissants dates back to the 17th century in Austria instead of France like most people have assumed. In the first place, it was named “Kipferl” which means “crescent moon”. Because of the event that the Austrian princess Marie Antoinette, who was fond of croissants, had a marriage with the French king Louis XVI, French bakers had made Kipferl to show their veneration towards her. Later on, the name “croissant” has become popular since it recalls the horn-like shape of this bread. Croissants are usually made of pâte feuilletée (a type of flour), yeast, butter, milk and salt. Their flawless texture is considered to be spongy, brittle and can be torn into small layers. They are an intimate and friendly guest to people’s breakfast, served with coffee, milk or jam. Savoring croissants is a smooth way to embark on people’s routine. Meanwhile, macarons seem to quench people’s thirst for something more sugary and aesthetically pleasing. According to Larousse Gastronomique, macarons first made their appearance around the 18th century in a monastery near Cormery with no filling or additional flavor. In the Renaissance, an Italian pastry chef made macarons for France’s queen Catherine de’ Medici when she married King Henry II. It was not until the 1930s (Wikipedia) that macarons were served with different special flavors and the varied ganache filling in the middle of the two pieces. This dessert is a derivative of meringue, a dessert in France, Switzerland and Italy. Its ingredients include egg whites, powdered and granulated sugar, almond flour and food coloring. A typical French macaron is supposed to have crisp pieces, light moisture on the inside, smooth and flavored emulsified ganache or jam and easily melts in the mouth. People may notice the indispensable colorful mini macarons in an afternoon tea party of a poetic French movie, as a common dessert in a three course meal, or in any bakeries and cafes around the world. In a nutshell, both croissants and macaron are French omnipresent confectioneries. They are not only relished by the epicures but also by people who enjoy savoring delectable desserts in general. At the end of the day, knowing more about cuisine is getting to know more about a rich culture.