Humans' attitude towards environment

The modern world is increasingly populated with debatable environmental issues whose effects are gradually coming up to the surface. Humans are adopting various attitudes towards the environment in general for the time being. It seems that there are several significant tendencies that can be categorized into three: the positive attitude, the negative attitude and the “referee” one. Firstly, people can effortlessly recognise the positive attitude of humans towards the environment. Being voluntary, proactive, enduring, eager and determined when it comes to the environment can be considered as a positive attitude. People who adopt this attitude have the tendency to raise their voice and act practically whenever they feel it is necessary to secure the surroundings. People have witnessed humans’ attempt to save the environment positively by igniting environmental movements around the world, such as: covering mountains, calling for signatures to protect animals, adopting wild animals, funding for environmental organization and so on. Their ceaseless effort has provided the environment a brighter future and set a foundation of hope for humans to save this communal habitat. Secondly, there are people out there who keep their negative attitude towards the environment. The negative attitude may appear as the ignorant and poorly informed view of the environment and the carelessness in their daily activities, etc. The people with such an attitude seem to be the ones that litter unscrupulously on the streets and rivers, deforestate to achieve economic merits and commit other illegal activities such as poaching and discharging untreated wastewater. As a result, those actions entail various negative consequences and exacerbate the contemporary situation. Moreover, they may cause the reduction in the species diversity on Earth. It is quite transparent that a lot of animals are facing the danger of extinction and two of them are the Jaguar with only over 70 individuals left (Viettimes, 2019) and the Panda with more than 200 individuals (Wikipedia). Lastly and perhaps the most popular attitude among people to the environment is the “referee” attitude. The referee attitude means the people who are indifferent and nonchalant to the safety of surroundings. They may do nothing but watch one side fighting for the rights of the environment and one side cruelly destroying it. They do not ostracize the bad behaviors and ignore the unwanted aftermath. This kind of attitude can be seen as the popular attitude of society nowadays towards the environment. Sometimes, being indifferent is more worrying than the negative attitude. They do not support decent actions, which lead to the evil being rife. In conclusion, humans are seen with various attitudes towards the environment. At the end of the day, it is crucial for people to adopt an appropriate attitude and ameliorate the humans’ habitat.