The best way to deal with the rising problem of traffic and transportation is to encourage people to live in cities rather than in the suburbs or in the countryside.

Traffic jam is a major problem in many developed and developing countries. It is been said that the best method to tackle heavy congestion in urban areas is to encourage people to move from rural and suburban areas to live in large cities. This essay completely disagrees with this statement, and I will explain my opinion on this issue. Firstly, making people going to live in megacities is not  reasonable way because cities are already overcrowded and overpopulated. This means that, large cities have huge problems such as air pollution, higher housing prices and poor public transportation. Therefore, when  new citizens come the demand will go even higher which lead to these major problems. Instead a solution to congested roads could be creating car parking in the outskirts of the city, so travelers would  leave their cars there and catch public transportation in order to reach their destination. Another reason might be that the government should put more investment in rural areas. Most people travel to inner-cities for work, where this cause congestion in the city centre.  The government should create more job prospects in these outside parts, which will enable them to work in local regions, and there is no need to drive to city. In addition,  these  parts usually suffer from  poor public infrastructure.  Investing in public transport is a key to solving this issue, for example, Rio the city of Brasil has created a cable cars which take workers from the edge of the city to inner-city. Investment in infrastructure and employment opportunities might reduce the increasing number of vehicles on the main roads. In conclusion, the standard of living in large towns might make people's live more difficult, creating alternative friendly car-parking is one way and opening jobs is an effective way to reduce the number of vehicles on main roads.