ANURAG ESSAY IN THE MASED

EFSA is a decentralised agency of the European Union, funded by the EU and issuing scientific advice independently of the European legislative and executive institutions (Commission, Council, Parliament) and EU Member States, to risk managers, communicating on risks to the public, and by cooperating with Member States and other parties to deliver a coherent, trusted food safety system in the EU. It was set up in 2002 following a series of food crises in the late 1990s as an impartial source of scientific advice and communication on risks associated with the food chain. The advice that EFSA provides to risk managers underpins the laws and regulations of the EU, as well as evolving policy priorities and needs, to protect European consumers from food-related risks – from field and factory to fork. EFSA was legally established by the EU under the General Food Law – Regulation 178/2002. What does EFSA do? Providing EU risk managers with independent, up-to-date and fit-for purpose scientific advice on questions related to food and feed safety, animal health and welfare, plant health, nutrition, and environmental issues. Communicating to the public on its outputs and the information on which they are based. Cooperating with Member States, institutional partners and other interested parties/stakeholders in the EU to promote coherent advice and increase trust in the EU food safety system. Developing uniform methodologies and collecting and analysing data to allow the identification, characterisation and monitoring of emerging risks that have a direct or indirect impact on food and feed safety. How does EFSA work? EFSA is governed by a Management Board whose members are appointed to act in the public interest. The 15-member Board, which includes a representative of the European Commission, sets EFSA’s budget and approves the annual work programme.