ANURAG ESSAY IN THE MASED

When it comes to adipose stem cell therapy the market is expected to grow due to the awareness of the role of regenerative medicine in disease treatment. The increase in private and public funding to support stem cell-based research, in addition to the rise in regulatory approvals for adipose stem cell clinical trials, nurtures the growth of the adipose stem cell therapy market. On the other hand, the high cost associated to stem cell processing and technical limitations is hindering the growth of the market (Transparency Market Research, 2020). Regarding Adipistem, the business primary markets are inflammatory diseases. We can see that there are some factors regarding these diseases that increase the prevalence. 2 Figure 1: The global stem cell market (Markets&markets, 2020) Inflammatory bowel disease Inflammatory bowel disease includes both Crohn’s disease, which can affect any part of the digestive tract, and ulcerative colitis, which is only found in the large intestine. Active inflammation of the mucosa in these areas can result in reduced mucus boundaries and ulcers (Punt et al. , 2019). IBD is increasing worldwide and is becoming a global emergence disease. The increase is being linked to the westernized lifestyle and other environmental factors. It has a high prevalence in North America (Punt et al. , 2019). In addition, it is also steadily rising in developing countries due to the rapid modernization and westernization of the population (Amosy E. M’Koma, 2013). To exemplify this; the prevalence in the United States increased from 0, 9% in 1990 to 1, 3% in 2015 (Centers for disease control and prevention, 2020). Rhematoid arthritis is a systemic autoimmune disease that usually develops later in life, and leads to chronic inflammation in the joints, which leads to progressive destruction (Punt et al. , 2019). From 1990 to 2019 the annual incidence rate of rheumatoid arthritis increased from 7, 4% to 8, 2%. The prevalence was highest in highincome North America, Western Europe, and the Caribbean. The prevalence rate is higher for women, and the prevalence rate is increasing with age and peaking around 74 years for men and 79 years for women (Rheumatology Advisor, 2019). Rheumatoid arthritis Psoriasis is a skin disorder that causes the cells in the skin to multiply faster than normal and result in red, itchy scaly patches. The main cause of psoriasis is not known, but it is associated with inflammation in the affected skin areas (Langeland, 2015). Danielsen et. al performed a 30-yearlong study regarding an increase in the prevalence of psoriasis. The study showed that between 1979 to 2008 there has been an increase from 4, 8% to 11, 4% in self-reported lifetime prevalence of psoriasis. In 2008 there were 9, 9% who reported a doctor’s diagnosis of psoriasis in the study group. It has a high prevalence in North America (WHO, 2016). The increase in prevalence may be linked to changes in lifestyle, environmental factors, or an increased awareness of the disease (Danielsen, Olsen, Wilsgaard & Furberg, 2013).