Write about the following topic: The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Health is of the most important aspect of people's lives. Although, the life span has increased in recent years, many people believe that this will change in the future. I personally think that the advances in the healthcare sector around the world will result in enhancing people's lives. The world has been through massive changes over the last years some of which can deteriorate the wellbeing of humans. For instance, the industrial revolution has caused a significant rise in pollution which is causing more people to become sick. Moreover, the huge changes in the lifestyle and the pressure imposed on people in the last years have increased the number of people suffering from stress and anxiety which have been scientifically proven to directly worsen the health and make people more vulnerable and likely to suffer from different diseases. Furthermore, stress is a major factor in the rise of the number of smokers worldwide which have negatively affected health and increased the percentage of lung cancer cases. On the other hand, there are many reasons to believe that standard of health will be increasing in the upcoming years. Firstly, the significant improvement in the pharmaceutical industry and the production of innovative medicines, in addition to the advances in the surgical field have ameliorated patients' health and increased the cure rates. Another reason is that we have recently witnessed a significant increase in the number of educational and informative programs and books that provide advice and explain the importance and the methods that everyone can use to protect and enhance their health. To conclude, there are many factors that can affect the safety and wellbeing of humans especially with this rapidly evolving world. In my opinion, if humans cooperate and try to use the advances in science to their benefit, there will be a great chance that the level of health will be higher in the future.