The article from a business magazine argues that the if the employees who needed no more than 6 hours of sleep per night will contribute more for the higher profit margins and faster growth of the company by concluding from a recent study rating of its em

The article from a business magazine argues that the if the employees who needed no more than 6 hours of sleep per night will contribute more for the higher profit margins and faster growth of the company by concluding from a recent study rating of its employees. However, this argument is highly flawed because of the following reasons. Firstly, the population sample of the survey may not be a representative for the entire population. The survey has been taken with only 300 people of the company including male and female. For example, there could be 3000 people working in the company and the survey could have been taken majorly from those employees who had more than 6 hours of sleep per night. Moreover, the people surveyed could have provided inaccurate information of their sleep hours per night. If either of the cases were true, the argument does not hold water. Secondly, the article fails to provide information as to on whom the study has been conducted. The company may consists of employees who work in broad range of hours depending on their job role. The top management employees would have no need to work for long hours in the company and can leave the company with just one or two meetings and presentations. Whereas, a entry level worker would have to work for a pretty long time in the company. Hence, on whom the study has been conducted is not elucidated and hence, the argument falls apart. Moreover, there could have been other factors in the company apart from the sleeping hours of the employees that could have resulted in the higher profit margins and faster growth of the company. For example, there could have high number of high skilled and experienced workers in the company compared to the freshers. Also, the company could have a reputable place in the market that promotes the stock buyers to buy more stocks from the company, making its growth improve. If these cases are true, then the arguments fails to be valid. In conclusion, the study has been flawed because of these unwarranted assumptions provided by the author. Only when these assumptions can be elucidated, the argument can be found valid.