The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this the case? What can be done?”

A dramatic decrease in the amount of drinking water in recent years has sparked controversy about its impact on the lives of humans. I can attribute this decline in drinkable water to a number of factors. In this essay, I will discuss these factors and suggest potential solutions. One of the most telling factors associated with the decline in drinking water is water pollution. By this, I mean that the more chemical pollutants from industries are released into water bodies, the more difficult it becomes to purify the water. Not only does the extensive use of water for daily household chores by the overgrowing population deplete the water supply, but drastic climatic conditions such as drought also affects the level of groundwater supply. Besides, deforestation plays a key role in declining the soil porosity, resulting in the diminishing of the underground water table Nevertheless, there are several solutions to address this problem which will only deteriorate without an infusion of revised measures and policies. Primarily, educating people on judicious use of water. This single step has the potential to yield some positive results, as far as conserving water is concerned. In addition, using techniques of rainwater harvesting, so as to grow crops can be an effective technique to save excessive use of water. Last but not least, having strict pricing guidelines for industries can contribute to the stringent use of water resources. It is, however, important to note that if we want to see any concrete and tangible outcome, convergent efforts from all sectors, be it public or private, need to be ensured. Only then can we expect these aforementioned actions to bear fruit and produce sustainable results sooner than later. Given the potential impacts of the decline in drinkable water, until we develop a more nuanced approach, which success in coping with the issue is contingent on, all our efforts will go awry if not in vain.