Some people believe that universities should only offer places to young students with high marks. Others believe that people of all ages and with low marks should be allowed to study. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some who thinks that exemplary students are the only ones allowed to enter universities while others believe that it should be open to all without discrimination. I believe with the latter notion where everyone has an equal chance to receive quality education. In one hand, some of the universities have a high standard when it comes to evaluation of students upon enrolment. Before a young enrolee could enter a university, they have to file an application form and take an entrance examination. Only those who passed the test with high marks are allowed to enrol. This has been the system of the university to ensure that they offers excellent education and can assure the society that they can produce outstanding students. Harvard University is an example where having a high grade matters and those with below the standard academic marks are not qualified to enter their university. On the other hand, some university is open to accept any students regardless of their age and academic performance as long as they are willing and eager to learn. This type of university knows not to discriminate student because they are aware that not all has the capability to send their young student to school. Moreover, most of the students came from middle-class or low-class family and some of them need to find a part-time job to support their studies. In addition, other university like state universities offer job and scholarship to their students. However, they have to maintain a good academic standing. I therefore think that universities should not be biased on their criteria for selecting a student. Whatever may be their age or grade, everyone should have an equal opportunity to receive quality education.