Testing is a difficult issue. Some think coursework and continuous assessment is best, others prefer the traditional closed examination, while some like online testing. Which way is preferable in your opinion?

For the last few years examination has become on way of assessment of students’ performance. There are different views on this type of assessment. Personally, I believe that exams with some assessment throughout the year are effective together to evaluate student’s abilities. First and foremost, exams provide a fair system as every student has an equal opportunity since they all sit the exam in one sitting. This means that those students who worked hard throughout the year or term will be able to present their knowledge during the exam. Moreover, cheating will be diminished due to invigilating which allows students who worked hard to obtain a high grade. However, as some students have a natural ability to perform better in exams it might not reflect every student’s true ability due to a stressful environment and time limit. On the other hand, students who did great work, during classes could fail their exams due to bad mood or psychological factors. Therefore, assessing students through continuous assessments or online testing might be better in a way that students will not be as stressed or affected by psychological factors or mood swings. Online testing is considered a convenient way for most of the students as they will not need to spend on travelling, going to school and planning. However, it can be argued that more than 50% of the people in the world do not have access to the internet which might affect a lot of students. So continuous assessment and exams will be considered as the correct option in this case. To sum up, a combination of exams and continuous assessment can create an efficient system which will be a true representation of students’ performance. Students can be asked to work on a project during the term and sit for the final exam at the end. This will provide a good combination of both styles and allow students to show their capabilities.