telling children that they will achieve anything if they try hard enough

Telling children that they will achieve anything as long as they put in enough effort is prevalent in certain cultures. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this message. To begin with the positives, it can be such a strong motivation for children, or even just anyone who gets told that. As their parents lift their children up by saying that they can do anything regardless of their abilities, they are strongly likely to keep believing in themselves and move forward to make it. And not only will this enable them to be optimistic about their future, but it will also possibly help them gain confidence in diving into new things, in which other kids may be afraid of even trying. To illustrate, the ones who get the message that they will achieve anything with sufficient effort quite often tend to utilize the confidence that they acquired into their own personal goals such as reading everyday, losing weight, etc, so they can double their self-reliance. In contrast, there are also some possible drawbacks of giving this message. If parents constantly tell their children that they will achieve anything, the children may feel that they are under pressure and therefore it rather may be a burden to them instead of motivation. In countries like China and South Korea, some parents obstinately push their kids to study for overwhelming hours, or to become a doctor, without considering their children’s opinions at all. There’s even a term coined for this type of mom, “Tiger Mom. ” there have been a number of actual cases in which students committed suicide as a result of their parents’ coercion. The most significant problem with these parents is that they only think that they’re doing it all for the sake of their children, when in fact, it’s one kind of a child abuse. Furthermore, the degree of success that these stage parents want for their children are usually unrealistic, so it can additionally lead the children to frustration. So parents have the need to strike a healthy balance when raising children; not so strict, nor so lenient. If they truly want the best for them, then they must be aware that it’s essential to respect their children as well. In conclusion, I agree that telling children that they can achieve anything with sufficient effort can be a strong motivation for them, but it will only work if they say it in moderation. Otherwise, it will cause a number of consequences to the children, such as mental stress and pressure.