Task 2: Nowadays, many people hold the view that school assignments should not be given to children by their teachers. However, others believe that it is essential for children’s education to have school assignments.

For the past decades, the conception of the increasingly increased amount of homework has never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Many people hold the view that teachers should not set school assignments for their students. I would argue that the potential benefits of homework should be considered. On the one hand, it is undeniable that school assignments might be an intolerable burden on students. To begin with, having too much homework can limit the time for other activities. Students who spend most of their time on schooling and completing their assignments at home have to sacrifice their time for family or exercise. As a result, a heavy toll will be taken on their physical and even mental health. Another reason is that many parents would agree that the period of school-day is enough for their children, and having homework at home will put a strain on their children. Moreover, maintain school-life balance would be beneficial for brain development. On the other hand, notwithstanding all the above-mentioned harms, I would argue that it will be a grave mistake to overlook some potential benefits of coursework to the students. One of the main advantages is that the encouragement of honing self-learning and problem-solving skills. By doing this, students have to put all the knowledge they have gained at school into their homework on their own. Additionally, another advantage that should be taken into account is that the revision that homework brings back to the students. By doing this, students can clearly understand the topic and easily gain in-depth knowledge. In conclusion, having too much homework indeed has its downsides, but I firmly believe that its merits will eclipse its disadvantages.