t is commonly argued that the arts play a fundamental role in school syllabus, whereas others believe that studying arts is useless. In my opinion, students should definitely study art-related subjects due to its significant benefits, yet it should not be at the detriment of other crucial ones.

It is commonly argued that the arts play a fundamental role in school syllabus, whereas others believe that studying arts is useless. In my opinion, students should definitely study art-related subjects due to its significant benefits, yet it should not be at the detriment of other crucial ones. There are several reasons why arts should be taught at school. To begin with, art is an essential subject that promotes imagination and creativity. Without the development of imaginative and creative thinking, children might struggle to grow into a dynamic, and individual thinker when reaching their adulthood. In addition, art provides a medium through which kids can express their emotions and thoughts. In particular, young children are generally unable to put their ideas into language since they do not have linguistic capabilities. Thus, they may use art to convey their messages through colors, pictures or symbols. That’s why child psychologists tend to spend years and years studying these artworks, so that they can gain insight into what kids think and feel. Nevertheless, learning arts might be detrimental to other critical subjects including math, science or physical education if they are not properly distributed. It is because students may have to cut down time from studying other subjects to practice arts, which directly affect their final results. As a consequence, they might be unable to develop their soft skills such as logical and critical thinking, which are requirements to get well-paid jobs in the future. To sum up, arts should be taught alongside with other subjects to facilitate a healthy environment for children to develop both physically and mentally. It is the responsibility of the authority and school management to ensure an even distribution of all subjects in the curriculum.