Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Recently there have been established a number of supermarkets which offer different sorts of products under one roof by sourcing around the world. Due to globalisation and interconnected supply chain, it is impossible to ignore the importing of products from different countries. Some argue that it would be better if these supermarkets sell locally produced products instead of importing. I firmly believe that these supermarkets should give priority residents products instead of importing so that local supply chain can be strong. Here I will outline some major reasons in support of my opinion. Firstly, it is apparent issue that selling imported goods in supermarkets may create bad practice of giving priority to imported goods instead of local product. Laterally it will discourage local farmers or investor to go for production. Secondly, if we give priority to residents products it not only motivate farmers or investor to set up factory or go for further farming production but also reduce the price of the products. Along with it will create more employment opportunities and facilitate the expansion of exporting the products. In contrast, although there are a lot of advantages, topography and fertility can be the leading issue which make the importance of importing Agricultural end products justified. Due to be easy international communication, demand for some products has been creating unintentionally in residents, which can not be denied anymore. In conclusion, it is essential for supermarkets to offer residents products in order to protect the local producers and farmer from struggling to survive. But there is also a need to balance between individual needs and society beneficiaries.